Day… not-quite zero

Today I finalised (I hope 😉 ) my 101 goals in 1001 days list.  If you missed it, it’s got it’s own shiny tab right up there :points: at the top of the blog.

I’m motivated.

I’m excited.

I’m wondering how I didn’t find / think of this earlier.

For awhile now I’ve felt like I’m drifting rather aimlessly with little to no forward vision for my life.  Part of the problem, I realised, was that I was still envisioning a future / life path very similar to the one I had in my head while I was in highschool.  Which didn’t include living in a different country, didn’t include having children young, didn’t include wanting a big family.  I’m not saying I regret my decisions up til now – rather I think they’re wonderful and make me on average happier than I would have been otherwise.  But the vision I had for myself simply wasn’t realistic or true to me any longer.  But I still was measuring myself by that ruler – and not measuring up – and letting myself get down about that.

That’s not who I am anymore.

So making the 101 in 1001 list was a way of figuring out who I am now.  What I want.  What I enjoy doing – and how to do more of that.  And I think my list quite effectively encompasses all of that.  I actually look forward to tackling just about all the items on it (except, possibly, the dental work – though I don’t really like the idea of ongoing, unchecked, teeth dramas either) but furthermore I have somewhere to turn when I feel like I’m lacking guidance or not measuring up.  Something I’ve set in place myself.  And can actually measure up to.

2 thoughts on “Day… not-quite zero

  1. I haven’t read the list yet because I wanted to comment first. I am so very proud of you!!! I feel like a big sister watching her little sister grow each day. Your girls have a great role model. 🙂

  2. Hi Margo

    I read about your 101 in 1001 on TNN. I felt compelled to comment about how your aspirations have really inspired me too, to get out of the rut I am currently in and live my life how I want to, rather than just doing the same ol’ same ol’.

    I’m not sure my version of your plan will be even remotely similar, but I do want to challenge my present way of living and achieve some goals, and unlesh some potential that’s been lying unused and unloved.

    I especially relate to these comments you made:

    “For awhile now I’ve felt like I’m drifting rather aimlessly with little to no forward vision for my life. Part of the problem, I realised, was that I was still envisioning a future / life path very similar to the one I had in my head while I was in highschool.

    the vision I had for myself simply wasn’t realistic or true to me any longer. But I still was measuring myself by that ruler – and not measuring up – and letting myself get down about that.

    So making the 101 in 1001 list was a way of figuring out who I am now. What I want. What I enjoy doing – and how to do more of that. And I think my list quite effectively encompasses all of that.

    but furthermore I have somewhere to turn when I feel like I’m lacking guidance or not measuring up. Something I’ve set in place myself. And can actually measure up to.”

    Isn’t it amazing that someone you’ve never met can be thinking along the same lines as yourself as the present time, and through this funny medium, we can connect and share our dreams?

    Thanks for your insights, you have given me much food for thought. Best of luck, not that you’ll need it though, and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

