Man, I feel good!

I don’t, and never intended, this blog to be solely about my 101 in 1001.  But it’s the new thing in my relatively mundane life, and it brings with it new inspriation and motivation.  So I suppose it’s only natural that I blather about it a big.

First off…. I feel GOOD!  Granted I’m still on my crazy pills, but I honestly don’t think that’s the biggest reason (though of course it helps 😉 ).  In the past two weeks, I’ve read fiction for pleasure again, I’ve had my haircut, I’ve knit almost two pairs of socks, and I’ve seen a movie in cinema without munchkins to chase around.

And I’m finally doing something about my health.  The past 6 months or so I’ve been monitoring my weight, supposedly working on it, but in reality I’ve been up and down within the same 1.5 kilograms for most of the past 6 months… up one week, down the next, up again, and so on.  The good part of that is that I now know a bit about my natural fluxuations… the bad part is that it didn’t accomplish much.

Now, my weigh in day (at home, buck naked in the morning as opposed to my Jenny Craig weigh-in) is tomorrow morning, and I’m a little nervous – mostly just because of last week’s performance.  I always get nervous after a signifcant loss… like it’s going to come back to bite me the next week.  But, I’ve followed the plan, I worked out 5 days last week and already one day this week.  For my ‘workouts’ I’m doing circuit training at Curves gym.  I’ve been a member before and liked it, but this time I am totally LOVING it.  My original plan was to go in the mornings, before hubby leaves for work, and start the day off ‘right’.  However I’m having trouble getting up in time (a morning person I am NOT) and hubby likes the freedom to leave early and therefore get home a little earlier.  So instead I’ve been going nearly as soon as he’s home from work for the day – he gets home between 5:30 and 6pm and I’m out the door by 6:15.  Instead of being tired out and putting it off, I’m finding I’m looking forward to the time.  Anyone with kids know that 5pm-ish is the ‘witching hour’ for babies / preschoolers, and this is true for us.  So after a day of dealing with two year old antics and baby grizzles, pooey nappies and conversations that make no sense and are repeated constantly, I get to run out the door while it’s still light out.  I blast the music in the car, I get to the air-conditioned AND ceiling-fanned gym (cool, and fights the humidity) and work out amongst other adult women.   I’ve only been in the routine for a week and already I’m seeing “regulars” and getting to know the people there.  Curves is such a friendly place – because of the way it works it allows for far more socialbility than any other gym I’ve been too, and it makes it fun.   The members there range from 18 year olds through to mid-60’s, all professions, all backgrounds. Plus, due to the circuit nature, I’m able to get in, get out, and get home all in roughly an hour round-trip.  Just in time to waltz in the door and kiss the girls goodnight, then have my dinner.

Sweet.

One thought on “Man, I feel good!

  1. I know I keep saying this, but I am so proud of you.

    And frankly, I think the lack of soda, doing something positive about a constant worry (your weight), and getting some adult me time is what is making you feel good. Not those pills. If it was the pills, then you would have felt this good since you started taking them. Looks to me like you’re on the road to getting off them like you want to.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

