I am a reality TV junkie

Which is probably not a secret to anyone who knows me well.

Lately I have become especially enamored with The Biggest Loser.

Now, remember I’m in NZ and we’re chronically behind, so no spoilers please!

However, the main thing I’m following with this show, is not ‘so much’ the outcomes… though I’m certainly interested in those.  But largely I want to see what they’re doing, how they’re doing, what they’re feeling, what they’re going through.  I’m under no illusions whatsoever that their results – specifically in the time frame they have – are anywhere near what the average person at home can acheive, let alone a stay at home mom who’s still breastfeeding.  However, I find many things jive with their experiences and mine in the day-to-day weightloss battle.

But the really interesting thing is….

I have been trying to lose weight for all my life, from teenage til now, really.  I have been on nearly every diet – some just for a couple days, others for months at a time. And through all of that I’ve been a fan of The Biggest Loser, so this is nothing new.

But something has changed for me and I can’t quite put my finger on what.

Previously I’d watch The Biggest Loser and feel hungry.  I’d want the ‘bad’ foods. I’d drink soda and eat pizza and think ‘gee, I should do something about my weight’.  Or, ‘I’m going to do that someday.’ (Not the TV part I mean… just the fantastic weight-loss).

But lately… just with this season (the couples one for those following along at home), which correlates so perfectly (but coincidentally) with the start of my Jenny Craig experience, I am totally behind them.  I am following with them.  I am learning from them and I am changing.

I saw a junk-mail flier today for Domino’s pizza, advertising their new crust.  Although that specific crust doesn’t hold much appeal to me, just the fliers used to make me crave pizza like nothing else.  Today’s flier did nothing.  Except perhaps remind me that I need to put it in the recycle bin.

Today on The Biggest Loser the four “losers” left talked about themselves then vs. now…. who they were when they auditioned and first got on the show, vs. who they are at the end of their time (some 4 months I think?) at The Biggest Loser Campus.  Most notably, although every single one of them were drastically slimmer and physically different than their former selves… none of them felt like the same person. Their fat self was someone else entirely – related, sure, but separate.

I went to the supermarket today, which happens to be in a massive mall.  It’s my favorite branch of that particular chain, largely because not only is everything in one place (the mall that is) but this particular branch of Pak N Save sells imported goods.  Lots of British stuff, but also a few American.  It’s the one and only place I’ve seen 6-packs of Dr. Pepper for sale in Auckland.  Plus there’s a candy shop that’s in the mall that sells A&W root beer, as well as Cherry Coke. My ‘reward’ for completing the grocery shop there before would be at least one of the ‘special’ sodas – sometimes one of each, or a root beer and a Cherry Coke plus a 6-pack Dr Pepper for home.  Today I walked past them all.  But the magical thing is, I didn’t miss them.

I am a different person to who I was in 2008.

Jenny Craig is killing the “fat girl” in me.  And I’m surprised to say…. I’m enjoying the “healthy girl” who’s replacing her.

3 thoughts on “I am a reality TV junkie

  1. a beautiful surprise today, thank you Margo, you are looking gorgeous! you should be SO proud of your achievements!

    Cx

Leave a Reply

