Married, with children

I am not a fan of my husband today / tonight…

Because I’ve been full-out studying, he’s had charge of the girls most of the time from Tuesday through Saturday (tho I did Friday by myself..). On Sunday morning I mentioned that the house – the lounge in particular – was a complete tip. Since he’d made the comment only a week or so ago of “THERE. I tidied up. Now keep it this way, okay?” I thought it was only fair that since he didn’t clean up through the day like he tells me off for… he could tidy up.

He said he would.

Tui ad anyone?

Nope, he didn’t tidy up. In fact, he contributed further to the mess by giving the two year old rice bubbles, to eat in front of the TV. Which of course meant that Little Sister wanted in on the ricey bubbly action, they had a war, and the carpet got most of the rice bubbles. Walking in the living room was seriously like wading through a sea of half-eaten toast, and rice bubbles, and I don’t even want to know what else… not to mention the cube of Duplo that had been tipped everywhere, or the various drawing papers everywhere, or the clean washing covering the couch and spilling out of the washing basket….

… which doesn’t take into account the overflowing dirty washing baskets in the laundry 🙄

Plus, he didn’t leave the house until 9:30, meaning he was guaranteed to be late home. His only ‘reason’ was that he couldn’t be bothered getting his A into G in a timely fashion…. as neither of the girls had their nappies changed, or were dressed for the day. So he was hardly all-consumed taking care of them.

So today…

I folded 2 loads of clean washing.
I washed and dried 3 others.
I did 2 loads of dishes in the dishwasher and one by hand.
I tidied up the lounge, including mopping up after Z2 spilled her orange juice.
I vaccumed the lounge.
I cleared the dining room table of stuff we need to / mean to sell, and moved it into the bedroom.
I tidied the bedroom (bar the above).
I photo’ed 27 items to list on TradeMe.
And I listed a bunch of stuff on TradeMe.
I prepared a lasagna from scratch (bar the pasta)

And I dished myself, and he then dished himself, and left the lasagna out. He came back about 10 minutes later to find that the cat had helped himself to what was left – over half of it 🙄 Meaning of course that now DH wants to chuck out the rest.

Yes, dear, you’re welcome…. I love you too.

2 thoughts on “Married, with children

  1. Oh no! I’m so sorry the mess was made worse. That sounds very frustrating. 😦

    I’m amazed at how much you accomplished, though! That’s some talent right there.

Leave a Reply

