Dear…

Dear Hubby,
Yes I am still sad. And when you ask me tomorrow, I will be then, too. How about when I feel good, I tell you, and you can stop asking me. Also, when I ask for cuddles at night and you say “but I’ve already spent heaps of time with you”, know that I still need the cuddles.

Dear Sister-in-law,
Thank you for the meals. Thank you for babysitting my children. Thank you for all the support. But I still don’t want to see you or your huge bump. No offense. You just get to be the scapegoat for my pregnancy jealousy right now. I will talk to you, eventually.

Dear Mother-in-law,
I know you’re excited about your only daughter having a baby, but I don’t want to hear about it. I was having one too and you never talked about that. Marci is no less your grandchild than the other baby will be.

Dear Random Acquaintances,
I don’t need you, and every other person I know, to comment on my posts or my facebook status. I understand if you’re uncomfortable or don’t know what to say. But if I then contact you for something unrelated, I do not need a big rambling explanation of why you never said anything. If you’re not going to say anything, then just don’t. I am not keeping a tally, and I hardly know you anyway.

Dear Real Friends,
Thank you for your support. Thank you for saying that you don’t know what to say but that you still care. There ARE no words that can make this better, but I really love you for trying anyway.

Dear Huggies Baby Club,
Yes, I really do want to unsubscribe. Your “Congratulations, you’re halfway!” email came at precisely the wrong time. Fuck off. I use cloth anyway.

Dear Christmas,
I don’t have time for you this year. Can you take a rain check? I’ll catch up with you later – maybe in July sometime.

Dear TV People,
Please put on more programs that aren’t about pregnancy, birth, babies, celebrity baby bumps, people who have a lot of babies, babies dying, and/or children being abused.

Dear God,
I’m still pissed off at you.

Dear Marci,
I love you and I miss you so much.

2 thoughts on “Dear…

  1. I am so sorry. I know I could never say something to make you feel better. When you first posted I just cried and didn’t know what to say. Just know that I care and I hope that you are okay.

Leave a Reply

